Cairns Botanic Gardens Night Walk and Photography Tour

Cairns Botanic Gardens Night Walk and Photography Tour
Partner Let's Go Buggin
Location Cairns Botanic Gardens, Cairns, QLD
Duration 2 hours
Min/max attendees 1/10
Recommended for beginner
Next availability (Brisbane time) Wed, 22 May 18:30
Pricing AU$68.0 (Adult) / AU$60.0 (Concession) / AU$196.0 (Family)

“Night Walks are a fantastic opportunity to see some animals we rarely see!” Says tour creator Bridgette Gower. “From frogs to cicadas, spiders and crickets, this tour is a welcome addition for visitors to Cairns as well as something new for locals to experience.”

A chorus of frog croaks, cricket chirps and cicada buzzes welcomes you as the rainforest comes to life at night.

The tour will introduce you to the much-loved White-lipped tree frog, Northern stony creek frogs and many other species of amphibians. For those who like spiders, there are many that can be seen on the tour such as Net-casting spiders, Garden orb-weavers and Huntsmans. For people not a fan of the spiders, they will be relieved to know that they are usually happily weaving their webs or sitting on tree-trunks out of range. Most of these animals only come out at night and therefore are generally unseen by most people.

Other animals that can be seen on a Let’s Go Buggin Night Walk include Micro-bats, Papuan frogmouth birds, Striped possums, Speckled flying foxes, Crickets, Longicorn beetles, Stick Insects, Moths, Pythons, Bandicoots and even Pademelons and Echidnas.

The tours offer a great opportunity for photographers who would love to just ‘go to’ that spot to capture amazing photographs of some nocturnal critters.

Itinerary

We commence our walk of discovery immediately after our safety briefing at the meeting point. Depending on the season we will adapt the walking route to see what is around at that time of year. There are a number of host plants that are habitats for our most regularly seen critters. I will also try and incorporate any individual interests.

Times

6:30 to 8:30pm on Wednesday & Saturday Nights
Other nights available on request

Availability

  • Wed, 22 May 18:30
  • Sat, 25 May 18:30
  • Wed, 29 May 18:30
  • Sat, 01 Jun 18:30
  • Wed, 05 Jun 18:30
  • Sat, 08 Jun 18:30
  • Wed, 12 Jun 18:30
  • Sat, 15 Jun 18:30
  • Wed, 19 Jun 18:30
  • Sat, 22 Jun 18:30
  • Wed, 26 Jun 18:30
  • Sat, 29 Jun 18:30
  • Wed, 03 Jul 18:30
  • Sat, 06 Jul 18:30
  • Wed, 10 Jul 18:30
  • Sat, 13 Jul 18:30
  • Wed, 17 Jul 18:30
  • Sat, 20 Jul 18:30
  • Wed, 24 Jul 18:30
  • Sat, 27 Jul 18:30
  • Wed, 31 Jul 18:30
  • Sat, 03 Aug 18:30
  • Wed, 07 Aug 18:30
  • Sat, 10 Aug 18:30